Greater Akron AA Baseball League
Greater Akron AA League Mission Statement:
The Greater Akron AA Baseball League is a non-profit organization operating to enrich the experience of 18 & over baseball players in the Greater Akron area. Providing an affordable and competitive playing atmosphere for aspiring, college, ex-college, and ex-professional baseball players that want to continue to play baseball at the highest level. Offering teams and players the opportunity to compete at the local, regional, and national level. While at the same time, the AA League administrators, teams, managers, and players will continue to carry on the rich tradition and history of our predecessors. 

Greater Akron AA League

1675 E Main St. Box 142

Kent, OH 44240

The Greater Akron AA Baseball League has merged with the NEO Roy Hobbs Baseball League beginning in 2012

Welcome to the Greater Akron AA Baseball League website. The AA League spawned from the Akron A League and Akron Industrial Leagues and dates back to the 1920's. The AA League has an immense amount of history, tradition, and a long standing reputation for competitive baseball. We are proud to carry on this Akron tradition and pass it on to another generation of baseball players.


Greater Akron AA Baseball and NEO Roy Hobbs have merged starting in the 2012 season.

The Greater Akron AA Baseball League decided before the 2012 season to merge with the NEO Roy Hobbs Baseball League to form a 20-team league of 18+ baseball in the Akron area.


Congratulations to the 2011 Greater Akron AA League Champions

Portage South 2011 Champs

Portage South Black Squirrels

2011 Greater Akron AA League Awards

              Phil Smith          Walt Samson          T.J. Deininger          Mike Darrah

The Greater Akron AA Baseball League has announced it's award winners for the 2011 season.

Frank Garcia MVP Award - Phil Smith, Portage South Black Squirrels                        

Dave Young Pitcher of the Year - Walt Samson, Portage South Black Squirrels 

Don Lombardi Rookie of the Year - T.J. Deininger, Players i Bulls

Dave Layton Tournament MVP Award - Mike Darrah, Portage South Black Squirrels

All-Star Game MVP - Phil Smith, Portage South Black Squirrels

Smith hit .489 for the year, which also earned him the league batting title, with 5 doubles, 3 triples and a homerun.  He led the league in Slugging percentage (.800) and triples.  His 22 hits were good enough for third in the league and was 4th with 18 RBI.  Smith won the award by 1 point over teammate, Jimmy Jamieson.

Samson was 5-1 in 6 starts this season with a 1.58 ERA.  He led the league in wins and strikeouts with 41.  He walked only 5 batters in 40 innings of work.  This was Samson second Dave Young Award, he also won in 2005 while playing with the Akron Storm.

Deininger finished his first season in the AA League with a .412 average, good enough for 4th in the league.  He also had 21 hits, 4 doubles, 2 triples and 19 RBI.

Darrah went 7-14 in the tournament with a 2B, 3B, HR and 3 RBI.  He also picked up a win over the Lasiks in the first game of the championship.

Smith, who had a part in all 3 of the AA All Stars runs, had a triple, a run scored and a RBI.